L Prize™: The Race for Super Efficient Light Bulbs

This September 23, 2008 webcast provided an overview of the Bright Tomorrow Lighting Prize (L Prize) technology competition. The L Prize calls for super-efficient SSL products to replace two of the most common light bulbs used today: the 60-watt incandescent and the PAR-38 halogen reflector. Kelly Gordon, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, kicked off the webcast with an overview of the competition requirements, evaluation process, and opportunities for promotion of the winning products. Mary Matteson Bryan, Pacific Gas & Electric, and Liesel Whitney-Schulte, Wisconsin Focus on Energy, followed with a look at the role of L Prize partners and plans for their organizations to support the winning products through demonstrations, education, promotions, and other collaborative efforts.