Better Buildings Federal Award 2013 Competition Finalists Announced

November 19, 2012

The Department of Energy’s Federal Energy Management Program selected 12 finalists to compete in the Better Buildings Federal Award 2013 competition.

The Better Buildings Federal Award recognizes the Federal government's highest-performing buildings through a competition to reduce annual energy use intensity (Btu per square foot of facility space) on a year-over-year basis. The Federal building that achieves the greatest percentage energy intensity savings for that year wins.

From now through Aug. 30, 2013, these buildings will compete head-to-head to achieve the greatest reduction in energy intensity from their August 2012 baseline. The winner will be decided after August 2013, the last month of the competition. Please return to the site in December to get more information about the competitors and track their monthly progress.

Department of Army
Picatinny Arsenal Building B65, Picatinny Arsenal, New Jersey
White Sands Missile Range Building 1506, White Sands, New Mexico

General Services Administration
Richard Bolling Federal Building, Kansas City, Missouri
Wichita U.S. Courthouse, Wichita, Kansas
Charles Evans Whittaker Courthouse, Kansas City, Missouri
Robert V. Denney Federal Building and Courthouse, Omaha, Nebraska
Food and Drug Administration Wiley Federal Building, College Park, Maryland

Department of the Air Force
Tinker Air Force Base Building 3333, Tinker Air Force Base, Oklahoma
Goodfellow Air Force Base Building 3323, Goodfellow Air Force Base, Texas
Hartinger Building - Headquarters Air Force Space Command Building 1, Peterson Air Force Base, Colorado

Department of State
Columbia Plaza, Washington, D.C.

Department of Energy
Argonne Information Center Building 224, Argonne, Illinois

For more information, visit: