U.S. Department of Energy

    U.S. Department of Energy Convenes City Leaders from 25 Markets for Solar America Cities 3rd Annual Meeting

    April 13, 2010

    The U.S. Department Energy (DOE) today announced the commencement of the 3rd Annual Solar America Cities Meeting, which is being held in Salt Lake City, Utah, one of DOE's Solar America Cities.

    Through its Solar America Cities program, DOE has formed strategic partnerships with 25 cities across the nation. These federal-city partnerships are intended to accelerate the adoption of solar technology by engaging city governments because they are significant users of electricity, regulatory entities, and key intermediaries to other stakeholders within their jurisdiction. As the nation's centers of electricity consumption, cities are uniquely positioned to reduce global climate change, strengthen America's energy independence, and support the transition to a clean energy economy by converting to solar energy sources.

    At the Solar America Cities Meeting, over 150 local government leaders and national solar experts will collaborate, sharing best practices and innovative ideas for advancing solar energy in communities across the nation. This format will encourage cities to learn from each other in order to replicate those practices that have been most successful and to look for new opportunities to accelerate the market adoption of solar technologies. The meeting will feature educational sessions addressing new solar financing models including community solar and property assessed financing, solar job training, solar permitting and codes, and progress made over the past year in each of the 25 Solar America Cities. Featured speakers will include Cyrus Wadia of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, Christopher Flavin of the Worldwatch Institute, Utah's Governor Gary R. Herbert, Salt Lake City Mayor Ralph Becker, and Salt Lake County Mayor Peter Corroon.

    The 25 participating Solar America Cities are: Ann Arbor, Michigan; Austin, Texas; Berkeley, California; Boston, Massachusetts; Denver, Colorado; Houston, Texas; Knoxville, Tennessee; Madison, Wisconsin; Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota; New Orleans, Louisiana; New York, New York; Orlando, Florida; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Portland, Oregon; Sacramento, California; Salt Lake City, Utah; San Antonio, Texas; San Diego, California; San Francisco, California; San Jose, California; Santa Rosa, California; Seattle, Washington; and Tucson, Arizona. The goal of the Solar America Cities program is to increase the use and integration of solar energy in communities across the U.S. This effort supports DOE's goal of generating 10-15% of the nation's energy from solar sources by 2030.

    For more information, see the Solar America Cities Web site.