U.S. Department of Energy - Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy

SunShot Initiative

SunShot Postdoctoral Researchers

Apply Today

Submit your application for a SunShot postdoctoral award!

SunShot postdoctoral awards are geared to foster the next generation of scientifc leaders in energy efficiency and renewable energy. They provide Ph.D. recipients the opportunity to conduct applied research at universities, national laboratories, and other research facilities.

Postdoctoral positions are offered by DOE's Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) in support of the SunShot Initiative's mission.

EERE aims to attract the best scientists and engineers to pursue breakthrough technologies in a highly prestigious postdoctoral research program. To meet this objective, SunShot postdoctoral researchers have access to unique education and training opportunities, top scientists in their field, and state-of-the-art projects and equipment.

Current Postdoctoral Scientists

In addition to the information below, a complete list of the postdocs and their projects is available.

  • Sarah R. Cowan is working on her postdoctoral research at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colorado. She has a Ph.D. in materials science and engineering from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and a B.S. in physics from California Polytechnic State University.
  • Neil P. Dasgupta is researching nanowire photovoltaics based on abundant, low-cost materials and processing for his postdoctorate at the University of California at Berkeley. He earned a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Stanford University, where he also received his M.S. in civil and environmental engineering.
  • Brandon Q. Mercado is investigating the design of high performance p-n homojunction films using lead selenide and lead sulfide nanocrystals at the University of California, Irvine. He has a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of California, Davis, and a B.A. in chemistry from Vassar College.

Potential SunShot Applicants

Postdoctoral awards are administered by the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) in collaboration with EERE. Postdoctoral researchers receive an annual stipend, allowances for health insurance and research-related expenses, and limited reimbursement for relocation expenses.

Visit the EERE website for information about the next application cycle.

In addition, a variety of internships, fellowships, and scholarships, including SunShot Initiative fellowships, are available through EERE.